Thursday, November 17, 2011

Thursday!

Today has been a pretty good day. Levi has slept well and has been eating well too. He is doing much better at staying awake during feedings-now I just have to wake him near the end because he likes to fall asleep after only 5 minutes on the second side. I tried not waking him one day and he woke up 15 minutes later screaming to eat. So now I just wake him and he eats for another 10 minutes and then we get on with our day.

I think half of our problem was that when he was first born the pedi wanted him to be fed every 2 hours. She didn't want him to go more than that because I was breastfeeding and he was 4 weeks early. When he got admitted for jaundice the pedi said the same thing. It was a constant struggle to get him to wake up enough to eat. Some of that was because of his jaundice but even after he got over that we continually fought over eating. One night I just sat there crying because I couldn't get him to wake up to eat and then once I did he ate for 3 minutes and went back to sleep. I was so frustrated and felt like a failure. Then one night after that I slept through all my alarms to feed him and he woke me up. He woke up close to the 4 hour mark which I felt was a little too long for him. So I decided to move his feedings to  3 hours. He is doing so much better and is even at this point waking up at the 2 hour mark ready to eat during the day. He would probably sleep the majority of the night if i would let him.

We are settling into a nice little routine with the breastfeeding. I knew it would get easier but that doesn't help you in the moment. It is also nice to know that I can feed him a bottle with no problems. I have a stash of breast milk and if we do have a bad feeding I can give him one of those but most of our feedings are good. He still gets at least one bottle a day so that I can give him his vitamins without him gagging them back up.

Today we went and saw my mom at her work and she got to show him off. She loves having a grandchild so close that she can spoil :)

Breaking Dawn comes out tonight! I want to see it but I am conflicted. I don't want to leave him yet. Im not ready for that. The only time he has been apart from me is when he was in the hospital for jaundice and Jeremy and I went downstairs to the cafe. He is only this little for so long and I don't want to miss it. Plus I only get so much time with him while I am off work and I want to make the most of it.

Well that's about it :)

2 comments:

  1. With the twins they were born 4 weeks early too and the only way to keep them awake during feedings was to have them naked, have you tried that? I'm so happy you're able to breastfeed! What a wonderful bonding experience for you and Levi!!!! The movie was so good but I complete understand how you feel about leaving him.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I am really glad that I am able to breastfeed him too--it is important to me especially since I am going to be going back to work. I do get him naked and he still passes out sometimes lol. Hes just a sleeper. He just started to be ticklish so I now have that to my advantage :)

    ReplyDelete