Wednesday, December 21, 2011

8 weeks

yesterday marked 8 weeks since my little man was born. Time has gone so fast. I still can't believe it. My time at home with him is coming to an end. I go back to work on Jan 11th. I'm not ready. I wish we could afford for me to stay home but at this time we can't and I suppose it is better to be working now when he is little and won't remember it then when he is old enough.

Levi has started to smile and his head control is getting better every day. Last night he slept from 12 to 7! I woke up because I was engorged and looked at the clock and thought I misread it and had to look at it again. We went to see the Christmas lights last night and we must have wore him out! The lights were cool complete with snow machines and we got some cool pictures of Levi with snow on him. Once my friend sends them to me I will upload them.

I want to learn how to tat. I had never heard of it until the other day and now I want to learn! The jewelry is so beautiful! Once I go back to work and we get a little extra cash that is my next project :)

Wednesday, November 30, 2011

End of November!

Levi is doing well. He is actually starting to outgrow a lot of his newborn clothing which is making me sad because he had a lot of my favorite outfits in that size. But he has a TON of 3 month and 0-3 month clothing....I think even more than he had of newborn. Some of the stuff I have already put him into 3 months because he is so long all the onesies ride up on him. I am glad he is getting bigger though!

He is doing really well with his breastfeeding lately. I hardly have to wake him up during a feed anymore. in the evenings he likes to cluster feed which stinks for me because I can't get anything done. This evening he kept wanting to eat so we laid down on the couch and I dozed while he ate.....he fell asleep and of course every time he moved a muscle I woke up--so paranoid about sleeping with him in my arms. He still needs to be swaddled which I am ready for him to outgrow. His arms always jerk and hit him in the face while he is sleeping and wake him up. Of course then when I swaddle him he likes to get one arm out :)

Tomorrow my friend Kristy and I are going to the outlet malls to go to the children's stores and get some clothing but Im also going to get some Christmas shopping done :) I love Christmas. My decorating is almost done....Just a few more things to put out!

Thursday, November 17, 2011

Thursday!

Today has been a pretty good day. Levi has slept well and has been eating well too. He is doing much better at staying awake during feedings-now I just have to wake him near the end because he likes to fall asleep after only 5 minutes on the second side. I tried not waking him one day and he woke up 15 minutes later screaming to eat. So now I just wake him and he eats for another 10 minutes and then we get on with our day.

I think half of our problem was that when he was first born the pedi wanted him to be fed every 2 hours. She didn't want him to go more than that because I was breastfeeding and he was 4 weeks early. When he got admitted for jaundice the pedi said the same thing. It was a constant struggle to get him to wake up enough to eat. Some of that was because of his jaundice but even after he got over that we continually fought over eating. One night I just sat there crying because I couldn't get him to wake up to eat and then once I did he ate for 3 minutes and went back to sleep. I was so frustrated and felt like a failure. Then one night after that I slept through all my alarms to feed him and he woke me up. He woke up close to the 4 hour mark which I felt was a little too long for him. So I decided to move his feedings to  3 hours. He is doing so much better and is even at this point waking up at the 2 hour mark ready to eat during the day. He would probably sleep the majority of the night if i would let him.

We are settling into a nice little routine with the breastfeeding. I knew it would get easier but that doesn't help you in the moment. It is also nice to know that I can feed him a bottle with no problems. I have a stash of breast milk and if we do have a bad feeding I can give him one of those but most of our feedings are good. He still gets at least one bottle a day so that I can give him his vitamins without him gagging them back up.

Today we went and saw my mom at her work and she got to show him off. She loves having a grandchild so close that she can spoil :)

Breaking Dawn comes out tonight! I want to see it but I am conflicted. I don't want to leave him yet. Im not ready for that. The only time he has been apart from me is when he was in the hospital for jaundice and Jeremy and I went downstairs to the cafe. He is only this little for so long and I don't want to miss it. Plus I only get so much time with him while I am off work and I want to make the most of it.

Well that's about it :)

Monday, November 14, 2011

wow it's been awhile!!!!

Wow so much has happened in a year since I updated. I just felt like I needed to update today. Need somewhere to express my feelings.

I am so glad that I got the birth I wanted. May not have been at the the time I wanted but i got to do it my way. They never did figure out why I had protein in my urine and why it was so high. After I got admitted my blood pressure dropped and stayed low so pre-eclampsia didn't really fit what was wrong but they didn't have anything else close enough. The specialists that I met with seem to think that I may have an existing kidney issue that was never caught and pregnancy made it worse. When I had my surgery last year I was spilling proteins then too but once I got pregnant there wasn't any protein in my urine until the day I got admitted. They want me to see a kidney specialist now that I have delivered. Not sure what I am going to do. I am going to go see my GP and see what they think I should do-whether or not it is serious enough for a specialist. The last thing we need right now is another bill since we can't pay the ones we have now.

Anyway back to what I was saying about Levi's birth. My doctor was skeptical that the Cervadill would work since I wasn't dilated or thinned out at all. Well I proved him wrong. They put it in at 10pm on Monday night. At 4am my water broke on its own and the contractions started coming. They did still give me pitocin because i wasn't feeling the contractions. The contractions were awful. I was trying so hard to do it without an epidural but I couldn't take it. I asked the nurse for an epidural at like 5am or 6 and she told me no, you have to be 4 cm (which is crap bc anesthesia had told me earlier you can get it anytime) so she got me some random IV med (still don't know what it was). It didn't really help. My doctor came in at 7 to check up on me and i was in the middle of a contraction. He saw how much pain I was in and asked if I wanted the epi and I said yes and had asked for it but they told me no. He was not happy and told the nurse to get them in there to give me the epi. The anesthesiologist was a jerk and I hated him right away. If he hadn't been giving me drugs I would have made him leave. By the time I got the epi I was 9cm. Almost didn't get it because I figured I made it this far and could finish but I caved.

Levi was born at 8:11am. 4 hours from the time my water broke to the time he was born. Since I had meds in my IV that morning he came out groggy. i wish I hadn't gotten those meds. Still feel guilty about that. Because of his groggyness they took him to the nursery after we got to hold him. Jeremy went with him to the nursery and once the nurse helped get me changed and got me juice she left and I got to take a nap. So glad I could do that. I had taken an Ambien the night before so I could sleep but since I was in labor I didn't get to sleep. I was in a fog the rest of the day.

When we got to our room they brought the baby up and all our family came. I was so tired I just wanted to sleep but it was an endless stream of visitors. Not that I minded but really I just wanted to sleep. Jeremy's dad took him out to lunch as a congratulations and they were gone for hours. Jeremy wasn't very happy that it took so long because he wanted to be there with me and the baby.

Some things that I was unprepared for:
being admitted--wish I had packed our bags sooner
How much you bleed after delivery. I knew that you would bleed and a lot but HOLY COW. They changed my sheets like 2 or 3 times the first day because i kept leaking.
How frustrating Breast feeding would be. I knew it was hard and it would hurt. i was just in a blur thinking that my baby would be good at latching and feeding--yeah right. He continually falls asleep while feeding and I have to wake him back up to finish. I honestly and more frustrated at that than his latching which he has gotten better at. Just wish I didn't have to fight him to eat.

I can't wait until I feel up to exercising again. I feel good most days other than the soreness when I do too much. Im not sure if my stitches are still there but sometimes I can feel exactly where my episiotomy was because it gets sore. I can't wait to get this weight off. I only have 10 more lbs and I have reached my pre-pregnancy weight and then I can work on losing the 60lbs I was working on before I got pregnant.

Sunday, October 24, 2010

Ok

Ok I've been trying to think of something to write about for awhile now and I have been feeling this way for awhile but didn't really want to put it out there. Now I want to.

I love our church. I love the people there, they are so nice. The sermons are usually just what I need to hear. But no matter how much I love it, I can't get past the fact that I no longer feel like I fit in there. A few years ago, I was single, all my friends were single and we got together all the time. I know marriage changes your friendships but is it supposed to change it so much that you feel lonely? Now I wouldn't change being married-it really is the best this that ever happened to me. I love my husband and he is my best friend but he can't replace my girlfriends. I miss my girl time......the couples at our church that are around our age and married are either parents or live to far away. I used to have a core group of friends and now we are in such different stages of life that it is hard to find time to get together and if we do, it is weird.  Not that they don't still care for me because I know they do but it isn't the same. I need some friends.

Hubby and I joined a Bible study and I was excited because there were a lot of couples in it. However I still felt like I didn't fit in there....I never felt like I had enough to contribute to the discussion. I don't even get to see my husband that much. I hate that he has to work 2 jobs just to help make ends meet. I want a better life for us but at what cost? At the cost of not seeing my husband? I'm tired of this.

Sunday, October 17, 2010

Sunday Sunday!!!

Well, It's been awhile since I updated but each time I come on to update, I sit here and stare at the blank screen because my like is just not that interesting.....well to me anyway......

I love having the weekends off of work. It is amazing. I have time to do the things I need to do and time to just chill if I need it. Last weekend was my BIL's wedding. They had a nice outdoor ceremony and was it hot! I also grabbed shoes on my way out the door and didn't bother trying them on.....well, those shoes don't fit anymore. I wore them for our wedding and didn't really have problems with them but now I am 40 lbs heavier than I was. I miss being that size. I am trying so hard to get back into the groove of being healthy. Each and every time I am doing well, something happens that makes me binge on food. Half the time I eat I am not even hungry and I KNOW that I'm NOT hungry......just because it is there I feel I have to eat it. I am so tired of my clothes not fitting right and feeling fat every day. Looking at pictures from this past weekend made me realize how out of control my eating habits are.

My mom and I are doing a challenge, we are walking 5 miles a week and no sugary snacks/food. I am also going to add french fries to mine. French fries hold no nutritional value and I am seriously addicted to them. If I go to a place that serves them, I want them. There are days where I just want a thing of fries. Really? There are so many more healthy options than french fries. What if I wanted a banana? Or an Apple? or carrots? I mean really? How many things of fries do I have to eat before I realize and care that they are making me fat?!?! hmmm, I should just do a post on french fries.....maybe I will.

Something exciting happened in the last couple of weeks. A friend and I have been kind of at odds for over a year. Mostly it was my fault for being a stubborn evil person. Well, we are working on our friendship again and I can't wait to see where God takes it.

Jeremy got me a Kindle the other day!! I love it! It's so much nicer and lighter than a book. I downloaded a bible on it and used it in church today. It was awesome.

Well I think that is about all I have for now.....hopefully I will update again soon!

Sunday, September 19, 2010

Update

Well I haven't updated in awhile. I've been busy with work and church. We joined a couples Bible study and so far we really like it. I also started back helping with kids Praise Team at church. I really missed it....good to be back.

I have started another sewing project that is going to be very time consuming. I keep putting off cutting out the pattern. I promise at some point I will post pictures but it is a surprise for someone and I don't want to ruin it. I finished my runner for the dresser! It looks awesome! Pictures coming soon!

Today we adopted a dog, named Swifty. No, we did not pick the name. He is already somewhat trained. He doesn't go to the bathroom in the house (yet) and lets us know when he has to go out.

Well I will try to update tomorrow with pictures of my dresser runner, if I have time to take them. But for now I leave you with these adorable pictures: